I Live in a Broken City

Picking up the pieces seems harder than ever before, especially when it seems inevitable that it will fall apart again.  And again.  And again.

Every 30 minutes or so, another aftershock hits. I think my body is struggling to keep up with the adrenaline needed to keep going.

Tonight, I am thankful for a warm house, with power and some water we collected from a well down the street.

Tonight, I am thankful for friends and family who are all safe and sound.

Tonight, I am sad for the thousands who are sleeping in the freezing cold with no power or water. (It’s forecast to drop to 1 degree Celsius overnight.)

Tonight, I am sad for those for which fear and anxiety is their only reality.

Tomorrow, I hope to channel my sadness into something positive but right now I can only hope and pray.

Official reports say there have been no significant injuries or deaths.

However, as someone wrote just a few hours ago, “we all hurt, even if our scars can’t be seen with the naked eye.

And it’s true.  Living like this hurts.

Leave a Reply

