Stop and Smell the Flowers

“The unthankful heart… discovers no mercies; but let the thankful heart sweep through the day and, as the magnet finds the iron, so it will find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings!” ~ Henry Ward Beecher

I went to school with a gorgeous girl called Gemma and I remember her talking about ‘taking time to stop and smell the flowers’ as we journey through life. It’s funny the things you remember about people.

Today, stopping and smelling the flowers is about being thankful. Like REALLY thankful.

{Geoffrey Dunn}

It’s been a crazy year. We’ve had thousands of earthquakes here in Christchurch. Our church (where I work) has moved venues three times. I’ve planned things and dreamed things that haven’t happened and to be really brutally honest, I’ve had my heart broken in two. In one year. Poor me.

Blessed are the poor in spirit for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

There’s this website called 1000awesomethings.com. I love it! It takes the most mundane little things of life and paints them in a totally new light. Here are some of my favourite ‘awesome things’ of which I am thankful for. They make me smile, giggle and sigh as I realise life isn’t really that bad. It’s just my perspective that’s sometimes a bit wonky. Here a few of my favourite ‘awesome things’.

#111 Double dipping amongst friends

#117 Driving down an old road with trees that touch and form a canopy over everything

#126 When someone brings you a coffee just the way you like it

#137 Laughing when you’re at home by yourself

#201 When you owe someone $10 and someone else owes you $10 and they just give $10 to the person you owe instead

#451 Somehow waking up at the right time even though you forgot to set your alarm clock

#631 Coming back to your own bed after a long trip

#699 A long hug when you really need it

#733 Laughing so hard you make no sound at all

#858 The other side of the pillow

#910 When you arrive at your destination just as a great song ends on the radio

It’s the simple things. That’s where I’m starting today.

Bring on tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

