Live Below The Line – What on Earth is That?

I’m currently on Day 4 of the Live Below The Line Challenge. I did a quick video update yesterday so thought I’d share it here! Click on the video thumbnail below.

Live Below the Line involves living on $2.25 of food a day for 5 days. For me, it means my diet for the past few days has consisted of quite a random mix of rice, kidney beans, chickpeas, porridge and sometimes an egg or 1/2 a banana if I can afford it (not all in one meal though).

 

Why $2.25? This is the New Zealand Dollar equivalent of the extreme poverty line.

There are 1.4 billion people alive right now who have no choice but to live below the line every day – and who have to make $2.25 cover a WHOLE LOT MORE than just food…

Live Below the Line is an initiative of the Global Poverty Project who focus on educating people on poverty and campaigning for change. Their mission is to increase the number and effectiveness of people taking action against extreme poverty. They believe that the best way to really fight poverty is by trying to help people understand it.

Trust me – after living on a small amount of food for the past few days, I am rethinking a whole lot of things…specifically how much I spend on coffee a week. Oh the pain of it as I realise that for the price of a cup of coffee, I could probably feed a small family for a day. I have also realised how we can so easily trivialize money and spend it without even thinking twice!

I am not raising money for Global Poverty Project though. Instead I am putting all my sponsorship money towards a fantastic organisation that is close to my heart–TEAR Fund. With the money raised from Live Below the Line, Tear Fund will be rescuing and rehabilitating some of the world’s most vulnerable children currently caught up in the booming human trafficking trade in Nepal as well as providing basic child survival needs for children in Ethiopia and India. So far, through the challenge, they’ve raised $34,563!

You can sponsor me here. Every dollar counts!

Think about that figure – 1.4 BILLION – that’s over 300 times the population of New Zealand – living every day in extreme poverty.

2 thoughts on “Live Below The Line – What on Earth is That?

Leave a Reply

